BP PirateThe Bay Port Pirates baseball team won the Division I State Title on June 18th. Winning a state championship in any sport is a tremendous accomplishment. Winning a state championship on a bases loaded suicide squeeze, with an 0-2 count, in extra innings, is about as dramatic as you can get.

As my wife and I watched the game this past Thursday, I thought about all the hard work and effort that is required by the coaching staff, parents and players to reach a state finals in any sport. The dedication of the aforementioned is sometimes forgotten, because so much of the work is done outside of the public eye.

There is no doubt in my mind this experience will positively affirm to these young players and the coaching staff the values of hard-work, perserverance, accountability and teamwork. All of these values create an excellent foundation of leadership, which can be used in other aspects of their lives, including future community service (be it serving in a civic organization, as a local elected official or simply for community betterment).

Congratulations to the 2009 Division I State Baseball Champions – the Bay Port Pirates!

